Putumayo Presents South Africa

Putumayo Presents South Africa

Putumayo World Music (p) and ©2010 Putumayo World Music. (http://www.putumayo.com)

Missing liner notes.

 

1. Soul Brothers – Ujaheni

Good song about moonbeams, or something…

 

2. Bholaja – Mbombela

Hey la’Osteen! Island-vibe; nice tune. I like this singer’s voice.

 

3. Mahube – Oxam

Xylo-centric; starts off Christmas-y. Beta-wey (Better Way?)

 

4. Blk Sonshine – Nkosi

Really cool – Sounds like human mouth instruments. Then it’s a rap-slide jazz thing. In English.

 

5. Nibs van der Spuy – Beautiful Feet

English lyrics. Reggae-plucked Flamenco-cooled. Weird.

 

6. Steve Dyer – Mananga

Fast-moving familiar tune done in a hoot-like way. Instrumental only.

 

7. Miriam Makeba – Orlando

Sounds like old-time 20’s/30’s/40’s flapper and War Era sister groups (like the Andrews sisters) in African language. Miriam Makeba receives a brief mention in Andrew Hussey’s book, The French Intifada: The Long War Between France and Its Arabs, on page 215, and is described as an anti-apartheid militant, mentioned in the context of having attended the first Pan-African Cultural Festival in Algeria in 1969.

 

8. Phinda – Tiki Tiki

It does sound like African take on Polynesia emerging from the ’40’s and ’50’s.

 

9. Johannes Kerkorrel – Halala Afrika

Acoustic guitar, Dutch folk-style, with Ha-la-la Afrika background.

 

10. Zoro – Work

Reggae. I think I’ve heard this tune before. Cliff? Marley? Tosh? Sounds too low and too harsh – Guess it makes a point.

 

11. Kaya – Vulamasango Mandinke

I like it. Very rich in vocals.

 

12. Soweto Gospel Choir – Ngahlulele

The high voice is so round and able. A good fit for the closing song of the album (CD).

 

3 Comments

Filed under Musicality

3 responses to “Putumayo Presents South Africa

  1. Thank you, Mukul. I think I’m getting a better sense for you as a person in relation to the items you share via your websites, your responses, and your “likes”. That’s nice. I’m happy that you share with us your actually very daring treks, such as into the Himalayas — Wow. So, exploring art, and food, and music of another culture from the comfort of my armchair gives me a chance to broaden my appreciation pf other cultures around the world, as well. We tend to live in isolated enclaves without always very much exposure to different people. With the times, it has brought changes in ease of travel and transportation, but also in attitudes. This was the case in my life, never travelling very far from my home base. My time spent in Israel, though, gave me the opportunity to live on a daily basis with people volunteering there from all over the world. Since I spent almost nine months doing the same, it gave me great exposure and appreciation for people from many lands. A pastor’s assistant from New Zealand asked if I’d like to go on a group trip with him in the desert, so I did. (Have tent, will travel). When the stars were out at night, I asked him what they were doing? They were blinking on and off. He responded, “They’re twinkling.” I wonder at my naivete, sometimes. I had never, though, experienced this effect, because it was so clear, and so close (yet it’s almost the lowest point on earth). In the morning, the desert fox were sniffing around the camp, searching for scraps leftover from our meal. There’s a pretty
    amazing collection of world music CD’s in the curated cillections of the libraries. They brought in a live performance of two Brazilian brothers who played an incredible set of music of classical guitar, which I love. Art, and food, music and travel, living in another’s country, are all great ways to live in appreciation of all of our earth’s inhabitants, entering a back-door past the politics — if even just for a while…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments? Please be nice...

