Randy’s Recipes: Ramen A-Go-Go

 

I’m a laugher. At just about everything. Including myself. I enjoy, and often succeed at, cracking myself up. That’s a good thing, as life has way too many sadnesses, of which I probably have more than someone’s fair share. So, I laughed at putting this up on the web as a recipe and at the name I decided to give it. Maybe this is what happens when you live by yourself for too long and really don’t get out much.

 

Randy’s Recipes: Ramen A-Go-Go

 

1 packet beef-flavored Ramen noodle soup

1 packet chicken-flavored Ramen noodle soup

Peanut butter (roughly Two tablespoons, or per taste)

Garlic (powder, or per preference) – a good shake, to taste

Wasabi (roughly 1/2 to 1 teaspoon, to taste)

(Update: My wasabi is a blended wasabi/horseradish one from brand: Silver Spring. It may make a difference in the outcome. So, you can use wasabi, or horseradish, or both. The one I used really livened up the soup).

Options to add-in: chopped scallions, soy sauce, coconut milk, curries or other spices, lemongrass, ginger, vegetables, fish, shrimp, chicken, meat, nuts, etc…..

Break noodles in half and add to water filled under halfway point of a medium saucepot. If using vegetables, or other items needing cooking, you might want to add these in now, also. Slightly past boil-point, turn stove to medium low and finish cooking noodles. Add packet seasonings at end. Pour into large serving bowl. Add good shake of garlic, peanut butter and wasabi. Crush down peanut butter with fork to dissolve and mix through soup. Add options which don’t need cooking here.

 

Whether Masala or Marsala, the ramen soups make a nice base stock from which to jump off and depart to flavors of other places: Korean, Chinese, Japanese, etc.

5.1 Yums Up

1 Comment

Filed under Eat

One response to “Randy’s Recipes: Ramen A-Go-Go

  1. Starship Randyprise, beaming up on a particle cloud…

    Ramen: What’s for dinner… I thought of you when I stuck the wasabi in there. I was surprised it worked together, and didn’t make me throw-up for trying some weird combo that didn’t work! There’s a great “Chinese” (not) salad using ramen (dry) with mandarin oranges. It’s really good. I asked my Mom about the date balls. She doesn’t think she still has the recipe, and I’m gonna scream! She’s going to look in her book, though.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments? Please be nice...

