Randy’s Recipes: Onion-Cocoa Gravy, with Meal Ideas

 

This gravy is a sautéed delight of onion, paprika and cocoa, serving as well for a vegetarian meal, as it does for a base of chicken or beef. This can be prepared Kosher, with the proper ingredients and utensils, if desired. Obviously, you wouldn’t use butter if preparing this as a Kosher meal using meat or chicken. Here, some of the ingredients used are not Kosher, and the meal is not meant to suggest Kashrut-compliance.

 

I enhanced the meal with the selections of beverages well-paired to the dish. I highly recommend a coffee served on the darkish side, something deep and earthy — perhaps a strong cup of Turkish roast, or even a slightly-lightened instant would do fine (again, not pairing dairy with meat or chicken, if cooking Kosher). Because I’m normally not one to drink a hot beverage with dinner, the cold beverage I made was a homemade lime-slurry (lime peel-infused cold-sugar syrup) mixed with cold water, for a lightly-blended, but not bland, fragrantly-flavored water. I’m not one for alcohol with meals, either, but I suspect the same earthy essences would pair nicely: oakey, leathers and chocolates, definitely deep into the berry with this; perhaps lighter-tinged if on the honeyed side.

 

This turns into an entrée by simply topping over rice or pasta or potatoes, etc. The gravy/sautée is prepared first and the meat is mixed in, once it has finished. So you will want to have your bulks pre-cooked, to mix-in at the end. Please enjoy!

KIMG0122

Randy’s Recipes: Onion-Cocoa Gravy, with Meal Ideas (Randyjw; May 22, 2016)

 

Ingredients (Makes 1-2 servings; but for me, it was just one: FYI):

 

White onion; 3/4- to 1 whole; Large: sliced in varying sizes

Paprika: “Hot” (or you can use “sweet”)

Oil\butter: I used a combination of both oil and salted butter to sautée the onions, using roughly four slices off the stick throughout the sautèeing process.

Cocoa Powder, unsweetened: 1 REAL Tablespoon, levelled

Chopped dry-roasted peanuts\Garnish: (optional, but most highly recommended)

Rice\Pasta\Potatoes: Base for either vegetarian or meat/fowl-based meal. I used about 1/3-bag (2 lb. bag) brown rice, although I cooked an extra 1/3-bag at the same time to keep on-hand.

Fowl\Beef\Eggs: Main Entrèe Ideas; feel free to substitute your own – I used a can of chipotle chicken, which totally changed the flavor, but was still really good.


 

Prepare whatever add-ins you choose with this dish ahead of time, whether chicken, veal, bison, venison, duck, beef, etc. You could also add these to the pan after the onions have turned translucent during the sautè process.

 

Put your water on the boil in a saucepot if preparing additional vegetables, or a starch, such as rice, potatoes, pasta, and begin to prepare as you normally would. I made a plain-boiled brown rice, forgoing the extra fats in its preparation in the suggested package instructions, as it would have been overly heavy in addition to the oils used for sautèeing.

 

While your base is cooking, prepare the sautè. Place your oil or butter and chopped onion(s) into a frying/sautè pan and begin heating. (I used a bit of corn oil to emulsify the spice and make it slippery, supplemented by 2 slices off the stick of salted butter, to start; increasing to about 4 slices total, throughout the process). Stir occasionally. As the onions begin to soften, add some good dashes of paprika, to start. If you need to cook your meats, or prefer to do so now, then add that in now. Add a bit more paprika as it continues to cook, as well as butter as it starts to dry, as well as about a handful/1-4-cup of water, added in small amounts, to moisten and thin, as needed. Towards the end, sprinkle about a level tablespoonful of unsweetened cocoa powder on top, and stir. If adding pre-cooked extras, such as meats, add these now and heat through, stirring occasionally. I used a small can of chipotle white meat chicken; I’d never had it and wanted to try it. It changed the flavorings of the meal and overpowered the other flavors, slightly, but was still good.

 

Remove from heat when done and combine with your bases and any extra vegetables or additions you prepared. I spooned the gravy over a bed of brown rice and topped with a sprinkling of chopped, dry-roasted peanuts.

 

Drunken in tandem with the dark coffee and the lime-water, it was a rich, gourmet meal on a low budget and a full stomach!

8.2 Yums Up

IMG_20160522_172118

3 Comments

Filed under Eat

3 responses to “Randy’s Recipes: Onion-Cocoa Gravy, with Meal Ideas

  1. I’m sure you can smell it halfway across the globe to where you are! It’s delicious, even if it does seem improbable. I need some validation. I hope somebody gives this a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hah-hah! My apartment and clothes were entirely onionized! (Not unionized!) I appreciate food, how it’s prepared, and what goes into it. I’m excited to try my new idea for a pie, and I like when the taste is nice! My dream scenario seems to be to have a home, with lots of land, and to have an orchard of
      various fruit trees, some vegetables, etc. An on-site crafts studio to perhaps make pottery, maybe jewelry, maybe paint, and maybe even an-onsite store, remotely monitored to meet customers, or even totally automated, like “vending machine artwork” hee-hee (my idea–no grabsies, anyone), so that I can have actual time to craft/create; and of course, to have that home office place to do some more writing! Then, in my beautiful, spacious kitchen, I could prepare wondrous meals with all
      that fresh produce from my yard! I guess I can say I admire good cooking, its chefs, and industry, overall. As a small part of my whole, in some respects, but as a primary driver, no. Perhaps if my basic needs were more securely met, then I’d luxuriate more in the making. Yet, many poor cultures are able to luxuriate around making food all day. Need, or love? For them, both? For me, I don’t particularly enjoy shopping, for food or for clothes, yet I could pore over endless design ideas: architecture, furnishings, home decor. Creativity? Yes. Drudgery? No. Creating with my hands? Yes. And mind? Yes. Cooking includes that, but its not the totality of it all. Processes and procedures? Interesting in technique — can appreciate that. This love might be one of respect for all it embodies, but I suppose I would call it more of an acqaintanceship. Yes, I know. They always say the missing ingredient in a dish found lacking is love.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award #2 | News Notes 1

Comments? Please be nice...

