The Liebster Award

********************************************

IMG_20160630_055307IMG_20160630_053644

 

********************************************

Joy Josephs could not be more aptly named. Her positivity envelops you like a soft cloud, holding you aloft above the rain. Here you’ll encounter blue skies and friendly smiles, a way with words you’ll at once know like a friend and which will delightedly astound with newfound revelations.

 

She lists an ability to understand the real you, which you may not even realize yourself. I vouch for her statement and attest to her intuition, 100%.

 

Thank you for the start of your wonderful blog and for the gifts which you so freely and humbly bestow.

 

Thank you for making my eyes mist, Joy.

 

Joy Josephs, Discover Joy.

(http://www.joyjosephs.wordpress.com/)

 

Joy endowed my first award to this site, The Liebster Award. This award recognizes the contributions of a blogger to the community and is a peer-to-peer acknowledgement of the blogger, for whatever reason deemed appropriate by its endower. The meaning of the award’s Germanic word origin references “Love”.

 

Liebster Award Rules:

If you have been nominated for the Liebster Award, and you choose to accept it, write a blog post about the Liebster Award in which you:

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog.

3. Answer the questions provided by the person who nominated you.

4. Nominate 5-11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have less than 1000 followers. You can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that let readers know this information (the new requirements, taken over by theglobalaussie.com, list a 200-follower maximum for 2016. I’d already gone off-course in revamping the logo and in following the rules I’d first found, posted above. I’ve already been in-progress questioning others and forming my selections, which I’d rather keep than have to withdraw, and therefore, be deemed officially unofficial, rather than be correct, and cause hurt feelings beyond that already existing for those not chosen. I am also restricting my choices to those of an adult level, to the best of and within the extent of my knowledge. I am informing you where to locate the “correct” requirements, as best I can determine, so that you can respond officially going forward).

5. Create a new list of questions for the bloggers to answer.

6. List these rules in your post. Once you have written and published it, you then have to:

7. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated them for The Liebster Award, and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it.

8. List 11 random facts about yourself (optional).

 

My answers:

Q1: What inspired you to begin blogging?

A1: It couldn’t wait! A lifelong desire to become a published author was exploding at the seams. Also, the opportunity to air my opinions and, hopefully, provide teaching moments.

Q2: What was one thing you found difficult to write/blog about that you eventually overcame?

A2: Providing public acknowledgement to the ending of two marriages, which I really haven’t done in writing, as such, until now. And that I’m fine in this status without worrying that others worry that I don’t date. My “me” time happens to be later in life, which isn’t a bad way to go about it.

Q3: What advice would you give the 13 year old you?

A3: I would have emphasized that there’s no place to start like the present. Don’t put off learning a subject of interest because you’re less-informed than others; become informed, and you’ll soon be that well-versed individual, providing expertise to others. Start now, to build a strong foundation for later.

Q4: If you could be any color, what would you be and why?

I would be multi-colored, prismatic, light-bending rainbow-colored, because it’s just so happy! I was thrilled with rainbow toe socks, and rainbows are a reminder to me of G-d’s care in the world. The bow is my zodiac sign, and fits my nature well. Called “Keshet”, in Hebrew, its the centaur with the bow, zinging his arrows all over the place. Plus, I earned a simple Junior Yeoman’s pin in archery as a kid, so it’s both a literal and figuratively apt description. Otherwise, I’d be blue — for the blue skies, the Israeli flag, for the music of the blues, and for the descriptor of “being blue”, cause that’s okay, too, sometimes.

Q5: If you had to give your life a title, what would it be?

A5: It would be the Hebrew toast, which means, “To Life!”, which is: “L’Chaim!”

Q6: What is one aspect of yourself that you would like to change?

A6: My past bad mistakes!

Q7: What is your favorite genre of music? What genre of music do you hate?

A7: Repeated exposure to artists and genres led me to appreciate them, where I hadn’t previously (and these shall remain unnamed). I love Israeli music: Eyal Golan, Moshik Afia, Ofra Haza. My blog’s two cultural music reflections feature Israeli music (“Shema Yisrael” post) and the music of my youth (“American Culture In Music” post).

 

“Shema Yisrael”:

(https://newsnotes1.wordpress.com/2016/03/05/shema-yisrael/)

 

“American Culture In Music”:

(https://newsnotes1.wordpress.com/2016/03/02/american-culture-in-music/)

 

Q8:  What is one quality you look for in a significant other?

A8: Since I don’t look, my advice to others would be to weight the value placed by each of you toward the relationship. Beyond each individual, there is a “we”. If someone doesn’t invest themselves into it, get out of it.

Q9: If there had to be one universal truth, what would it be?

A9: G-d. Other good choices: Respect. Love.

Q10: Who or what is your favorite poet/poem and why?

A10: Theodore Geissl (“Dr. Suess”), for making children laugh and for modelling examples of creative writing to enhance children’s learning; and William Shakespeare and Robert Frost.

 

The best part of this award is getting to share the nominees’ sites with others. The nominees may have over 1,000 followers, but that’s a good thing! So: Have a Happy July 4th, everybody!!!

 

The Liebster Award goes to:

 

1.  Art of Drem

2.  Lonely Blue Boy (over 1,000)

3.  Glenn Thomas Poetry (ed. April 13, 2017)

4.  ice cream magazine

5.  Gamin Traveler

6.  Poetpas

7.  Bookscrazy Anagha

8.  Odedi’s Wine Review Blog / Winesipping

9.  Life is all about PAIN

 

The questions for the nominees are:

1. What other creative interests do you like to engage in?

2. Who are some of your favorite authors?

3. What childhood activities did you enjoy?

4. What famous people would you like to meet, and what would you ask them, or speak with them about?

5. What are a few things you would put on your “bucket list”?

6. What are some of the issues which are important to you?

7. Have you done any charitable work, and would you like to speak about it?

8. If you could be any animal, which would it be, and why?

9. If you could have magical powers, which would they be, and why?

10. What other pursuits would you like to learn?

11. Do you like and/or play any sports?

 

11 Random facts about me:

I like Chinese food. I like Mexican food. I like Italian food. I like French food. I like Israeli food. I like American food. I love chocolate. I love candy. I love brownies. I love cake. I love ice cream.

 

Thank you so much for all of your work — and, better yet — for your camraderie and community. I’ve really enjoyed getting to know all of you better.

~ Randyjw

https://newsnotes1.wordpress.com/

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Liebster Award

  1. I am singing “Oh, I’ve got Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy in my heart…”! You are so wonderful! Happy 4th!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments? Please be nice...

