Prophets Are Always Right — Never Left

 

Prophets Are Always Right — Never Left (Randyjw; November 25, 2016)

 

It’s Friday. According to G-d’s calendar, that makes it Shabbat. We reckon this in several ways: first, in the delineation determining daylight and evening. We know that darkness was upon the face of the deep, because it is revealed to us in the opening paragraph of the Bible, stating this is so, in the sentence following G-d’s creation of the heaven and the earth. We can confirm that the universe is mostly dark, except for emitted gases from our stars, such as the sun (the large light), and its non-gaseous, smaller, reflective body, known as the moon (the small light), reflecting the grandeur of the sun’s emissions, because in the time since the Bible’s transmission, we humans have propelled ourselves into this chasmic void, and found it to be true.

 

G-d spoke Light into existence and divided the light from the darkness. And G-d “called the light Day, and the darkness he called Night. And there was evening and there was morning, one day.” (Koren Publishers Jerusalem translation).

 

Because G-d has specifically called these things according to His words, and set them according to His will, we follow them in a literal sense, assigning the time past sundown (with a few extra fail-safe determinants for certainty), and its extension to the following time just before it again, one “day”. Other cultures divide a day at the antemeridian and post-meridian times of noon and midnight. Some cultures divide a year into many more months than is our accustomed tradition of division by twelve.

 

When we count, in Hebrew, the days of creation listed, we start with “one day”; “a second day”; “a third day”; “a fourth day”; “a fifth day”; “the sixth day”. Each is counted as one would count a regular number. The seventh day we call Shabbat. Hebrew is so incredible and so Holy, but I don’t really speak it. But let me explain, if I can, what I see in this small paragraph about this day.

 

Let me read you the English translations and tell you about their derivative Hebrew words. The Hebrew provides deep insight into the meaning of the English-language words used in their stead, as well.

 

I’ll start here: “And by the seventh day G-d ended His work which He had done;…”. Here it states “…bayom haSh’vi’i” (“by the seventh day…”). Hebrew relies, generally, on a core of three-lettered root words, from which conjugations and other words are formed. Thus, we see that this is a conjugated form of the word meaning “seven”, which is “sheva”: for example, as in “Be’er Sheva”, or “Batsheva”.

 

Cool, right? But, it becomes even more so. In Hebrew, the sentence continues, thusly: “VaYishbot bayom haSh’vi’i…” In English, the words relay: “and He rested on the seventh day (…from all His work which He had done.)” We can see that the root letters comprising the number for “seven”/”sheva” are the “Sh” sound of the letter, “Shin”, and the soft ‘v’/’b’ of the letter, “Beit”.

 

Since Hebrew was formulated using pictographic representations for its letters, it means that each letter is represented by some type of object or idea. Hebrew letters, in a sort of simple cipher, where “a” equals “one” and “b” equals “two”, and so forth, also form the basis for creating numbers. The “Shin” is Kabbalistically a crown, of sorts. The letter, “Beit”, is pictographically a representation of a house, and also, not coincidentally, is the word for “house” (for example, “Beit HaMikdash”, or “House of the Holy” (essentially, or, The Jewish Temple).

 

Using another derivative of those root letters, “Shin” and “Beit”, we find the word, “Yoshev”. What do we do as the ultimate relaxation, especially when we are to relax and do no work on Shabbat, the seventh day? We sit and relax inside our homes. Glorifying G-d, our “crown”, and our “crowning” form of relaxation, we “sit” inside our “homes”. “Yoshev” means “to sit”. Therefore, “Shin”Crown/”Beit”Home forms the words for “Shabbat” (seventh day, when G-d rested), “seven”, “sit”, and others.

 

The paragraph continues: “And G-d blessed the seventh day, and sanctified it: because in it He rested from all His work which G-d had created and performed.” The Hebrew words for the portion, “because in it He rested…” read, in Hebrew, “ki vo shavat”. Because “beit” and “veit” are the same letter with just a distinguishing mark to separate them, “in it He rested” is so close to “bo Shabbat”, or “Come, Shabbat”. Neat, huh?

 

The Hebrew word for “heaven” is a word found in a plural form. We find this usage in English, as well, although it’s falling out of fair usage in these latter times. Sometimes we’ll say “waters”, instead of a singular word encompassing the “many” particles combined into one, which form the “water”. The same can be said of the plural or singular form of “heavens”, or “heaven”, as well as others.

 

The Hebrew does that in the same way with those two examples, and others, such as the plural usage of one of the words used for G-d, as He embodies everything, all in one. The Hebrew word for “heaven”, or “heavens”, is “hashamayim”. It’s sortof like saying, “that which waters”. “Of the sky”. The sky waters with rain. G-d formed the rains and the waters. The root letters actually form a name for G-d, which, if said, means “the Name”. Interesting, huh?

 

And “Mayim,” which means “waters,” has interesting formative roots. The Egyptian heiroglyphic symbol for the letter “m” is formed by the wavy squiggle one draws to indicate waves on the water. This letter, in Hebrew, is called “mem”; it sounds close enough to the English, “Emm”, right? It is basically written like a squiggle in the Hebrew script used for informal, non-Holy, writings, which have a different script than their more formal counterparts. This would be similar to the two, different alphabetic scripts used in English: the cursive and plain-hand versions. Moses has his name because he was “drawn from water” out of his basket floating on the river by the Pharoah’s daughter.

 

What has prompted me to write what appears here, today, is a response written by a person calling himself “Fresno Joe” to an article I read in an email blast today from United with Israel.org, reblogged from the Clarion Project’s original November 23rd article on the subject, about a possible tie-in being investigated between a company, which processes a certain familiar branding of turkey, with an individual or others who might have had possible dealings with the terrorist organization, Hezbollah.

 

“Fresno Joe” — whom I don’t know, and vice-versa, I suppose — found it appropos, I guess, to quote the Hebrew prophet, Ezekiel, as a response to the article. He uses a translation from a Bible of which I am unfamiliar, and so it perhaps, then, is a Christian one. I like the way he’s written it up and made it so convenient to utilize, so I hope that G-d, Jews, Joe and that publisher will forgive me this requote:

 

You said, “These two nations, Israel and Judah, along with their land, belong to us. We will take possession of them.”

But the LORD was there. That is why, as I live, declares the Almighty LORD, I will do to you what you did to them. When you were angry and jealous, you acted hatefully toward them. Then you will know that I, the LORD, heard all the insults that you spoke about the mountains of Israel.

You said, “They have been deserted and handed over to us to use up.” You bragged and continually talked against me. I heard you. ” ‘This is what the Almighty LORD says: The whole earth will be glad when I turn you into a wasteland.”

“You were happy when the land of Israel became a wasteland. I will do the same thing to you. You will become a wasteland, Mount Seir, and so will all of Edom. Then you will know that I am the LORD.’ Ezekiel 35:11-15 ((GOD’S WORD® Translation)

 

The whole takeaway from this rehashing of a Jewish prophet, speaking from G-d, is that this was one seriously right-wing dude. Really. I can’t think of many, if, any, at all, of the Hebrew prophets who might have been left-wing, can you? Okay, we’ve got contenders in a few who didn’t feel confident in their abilities as speech-driven nation-leaders, such as Moses and Jonah, who both felt unequal to the challenge, but I can’t say that that personality aspect ever served as a deterrant for the garrulous, progressively-bent left-leaners. Nope, to me, our prophets were always conservative, right-leaning voices, occasionally bleating out the sole, proper course of action amidst a bunch of yakkers always doing what’s right in their own eyes.

 

Time we “right” this course.

 

Staff, The Clarion Project. “Butterball Turkeys Funding Terror?”. The Clarion Project.org; November 23, 2016:

http://www.clarionproject.org/news/butterball-turkeys-funding-terror/

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Prophets Are Always Right — Never Left

  1. The two, “rigid”, and “conservative”, don’t necessarily conflate. I have previously explained that I, too, was once a Leftist. My views range, depending on the issue or individual case. The fact that I’ve changed would seem to be a fluid and malleable thing. Matters change when people he**-bent on the extermination of my people don’t change.

    Like

  2. Exactly. My aha! moment in writing this was that I felt a parallel sense of time: like that what we are experiencing in these politically contentious times might resemble the days when the behavior of the am ha’aretz in the Land resembled more the cultures into which everybody was blended and assimilated, leading ourselves away from G-d and spiritualism in our lives. “Fresno Joe’s” quote of Ezekiel from his particular source was a good response to the corresponding article and it just resonated. I thought about just using my Koren version to redo it, but I rather appreciated his reply and the fact that, through many avenues, we might receive indirectly direct inspiration of G-d and Torah learning, and figure out where it merges and is exemplified in modernized times and lives. I appreciate the engaging, engaged engagement of everything that’s transpired with this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Am Ha’aretz pertaining to those leading lives less-attuned to Torah, rather than in more-close alignment with Torah living. Continuation of such practices would eventually lead to higher rates of association and assimilation with non-Torah-adhering culture, which we find in many instances throughout the Torah. The asherah, the high places, Sampson, Ahab and Jezebel, Elijah versus the priests of “Ba’al”, etc. It’s a struggle the prophets rail continually against the perpetration of its furtherance and continuance. I base my assignation of the leftist camp to the Am Ha’aretz in seeing the similarities in the leftist ideology, its ideals, and its carried-out actions of the types of results the Am Ha’aretz realized. I base the railings against the leftist ideology of today by the right-leaning camp as akin to the railings of the prophets against a degrading society. This is the basic analogy I’m making. That’s not to say that a framework can’t exist wherein there can be no interaction between the two — it just has to find proper application and expression. The land is besot with the influences of other cultures — for instance, the respect by King Hiram in working with King Solomon to provide the finest workmen or craftsmen or cedarwood for the beams; the respect of King Cy to send materials, etc. for the reconstruction of the Temple; even our King Herod and his extensive building projects of dressed stone, colorful marble tiling slabs and full Roman participation to see those things through… Jewish relations with foreign governments have been a long-established precedent which has been diplomatic and peaceful, but only when the other party truly accepts Israel and is allied to her; not when there is trickery and deceit on the other end.

      Like

      • Yeah. It’s more a generic comparison I was making. How far apart the poles were between one group and another. It was more a comparison of the political right trying to correct a course that the political left has taken us down, and the fact that prophets were uttering against the course of existence of (segments of) society. Of course, it’s an “apples”/”oranges” thing, as neither the political left nor the political right here in the US are representative of a religious entity/body, anyways. But, in any case, I don’t see prophets as left-wing; to me, they’re more right-wing. As far as the Jewish community in America goes, to me the Reform are mostly left, and the Orthodox are mostly Right. I don’t know why (lo yodea) Reform feels the laws are unimportant. I know basically what they are, but there’s that disconnect you don’t really think about, like, Why aren’t we being taught to follow the Laws? It’s a difficult situation to feel under when you’ve been raised a whole way your entire life, like me, with a veneer of leftist liberalism, love to wear pants-wearing, short-sleeved shirt / hate material over my elbows-bearing, with some feminism sprinkled on top! I sound atrocious by my own standards! I see where the self-loathing aspect of leftism begins to dig its hooks! Anyways, I came across a book, not too long ago, that had written that the Reform movement had purposely decided to disregard the Laws. I don’t know if it’s true, but I was shocked. I loved my education and Rabbi and everything, and I wouldn’t have thought anybody finer than he. I remember the time when he informed the congregation that there had been discussion from the general movement, and it had been decided to replace the old prayerbooks. Though he didn’t say anything to indicate his feelings on the matter, I sensed it was something that he perhaps was not in agreement to. Lo and behold, the new ones were not as pleasing to me. Anyways, I’m like an Am Ha’Aretz, myself, as I know basically the laws, but find myself so entrenched in my ways. But, really, not that it’s a superstitious thing, but my life really does proceed so much more smoothly when I’m trying to follow the Laws. I’ve been on a downswing of late, if you can’t tell… Anyways, did you hear about the latest terror attack by a Somali Muslim student at Ohio State University? He rammed his car into a crowd of people and then jumped out and began knifing people. Just like in Israel. This is a horrific tragedy.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Briut! I already know that the Laws are there to be followed and would otherwise be a purposeless exercise in futility. I already feel better having gotten all that off my chest, so you provided the exact help needed (see, G-d works in mysterious, and not-so-mysterious ways), so I guess I should say I absolve you from needing to feel any further obligation; I already appreciate your support and encouragement. As for the Reform break with the Laws, I suspect the answer will probably be that the stoppage of Temple services negates being able to complete all the required duties and so ending all the others. But we know this was solved through Rabbinic Judaism during the Babylonian Exile and the establishment of academies and the exchange of correspondence between Jerusalem’s Jews and the captive Jews in Babylon. My initial thought was that it might be because we’re in the Galut, but since Reform congregations are being established in Israel, this doesn’t hold sway. I think I vaguely remember reading something about it now. I think it’s just the attitude of feeling like the Laws are archaic and we need to assimilate into our “host countries” and become like the nations, rather than set ourselves apart as separated in and of itself as the purpose which G-d has set for us and to be a Holy vessel for His Torah. I don’t really agree with those ideas I listed if they are the Reform philosophies, and I know that my
          outlook has changed, and I like it better from this perspective of being able to see how my surroundings and environment shaped my being, but that I can see it from a new view. Really, really… I do feel better and think I just needed to vent that off my chest. Getting rid of that churning feeling from just too many overwhelming matters is a first step in being beter able to deal with them. I was grieving alot today; I thought of you and your grief and was going to write sn “article” about grief and hope it helps you, but here you are having been helping me instead! Can a woman be a mentsch? A mentschie? What’s the word? Well, that’s you (all right, sorry ’bout the label). Well, gei schluffen to you and thanks for being there!

          Liked by 1 person

Comments? Please be nice...

