Make No Scents

 

Make No Scents (Randyjw; January 26, 2017)

 

I read the mythology story

at the site you linked me to

It was really nice

Enjoyed getting lost there for a few

 

Though it makes for beautiful poetry

and a story of incredible drama

I prefer the red-hued stones and lore

of the real-life mountain of Masada

 

For there we write our own roles

of our history and traditions and dreams

Captured in incredible scrolls

stored in vessels in caves near Essenes

 

That culture made inroads to ours

Rending seams which divided our philosophy

Leaving two-thousand year-old scars

in a split of comparative anatomy

 

Yet the mosaics that tile the floors and halls

Like the patterns resembling life

seen in frescoes that plaster the palace walls

the incense of perfumers’ spice

 

11 Comments

Filed under Poetry

11 responses to “Make No Scents

  1. Thanks so much, Falak. Spanning history in a look-back perspective, from present day references of technology, to the ancient incense maker’s workshop near Masada. Then, a comparison of Hellenic influence on Jewish culture and its resistance, enshrined in the Jewish Revolt and the holdout at Masada. Ein Gedi, Masada and the Dead Sea have such rugged, wild beauty and appeal, if you’re a desert kind of person, like I am, now. However, somewhere out there lies the old swallowed-up cities of S’dom and Amora — the warning not to follow the foreign ways of other nations. The Dead Sea area is developing many sinkholes these days; I think it may be a result of being either control-dammed upstream, or from being harvested by both Israel on it’s side, and Jordan at the other side of it, across the way.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for the inspiration! Your haiku was divine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow; thank you. I have really been lax in compiling a list, to-date (and it’s even part of my pages! I subscribe to a number of sites, which mostly offer current event news, but often give archaeological news, at times. My page called “Read” (https://newsnotes1.wordpress.com/read/) lists some of them, as well as some books I like. All of the religious Jewish books contain the original sources, so any of them would do. I like my simple translation of the Old Testament, published by Koren Publishers in Jerusalem, and it has line-by-line translation which matches the Hebrew, so it helps me learn the language. It is called the “Jerusalem Bible Set” (Compact), and is a three-volume portable English-Hebrew set. (https://www.korenpub.com/koren_en_usd/tn-k-irwlim-dv-lwvni-bwlvwh-krkim.html). It also comes in a larger, single edition size. A nice prayerbook (called a “siddur”) will give you good insight into the feel of Judaism through its prayers. An older book I like, if you can find it, is called “The Indestructible Jews”, by Max I. Dimont. A great book, which gives almost a complete perspective of the land of Israel is called “From Time Immemorial”, by Joan Peters. I highly recommend it. I find Bernard Lewis to have a wonderful style of writing. He is a noted historian with an academic background. He speaks many languages, including Arabic, and so has gone directly to most of the original source materials. Most of his books are wonderful (though not entirely all). Atlas of Jewish Civilization types of books will give you a good overview of our history, and I think Bernard Lewis has done a number of those. I don’t know if these sites are any good, but Questia has some of his work, as does Open Library (https://openlibrary.org). I’ll have to eventually work on this some more. Hope those are some nice reading choices for now for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just found this collection of links to Josephus’s works at Wikipedia.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Josephus

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Julia. It sounds familiar; perhaps even like something that may have been a subject discussed once, or maybe I’ve read it. I can’t quite recall — it’s way back in the recesses of so much more that has papered over it, since that time. I’m feeling some negative associations with something there; maybe I just didn’t like it, or it’s the subject matter, or something. It really doesn’t matter. What matters to me is that you came by to be supportive. Your suggestion to help me with something that resonates so strongly with you makes it matter to me. I’m thankful. Thank you.

      Like

      • It was fine. I think it was really nice that you mentioned it to me. I appreciate it. I wish I could recommend the right place to start for you, too. I suppose everyone’s journey is a personal thing and its discovery also, although great things will be shared by what others provide. Do you have something you’d like to focus on?

        Like

Comments? Please be nice...

