Waves Goodbye

 

Waves Goodbye (Randyjw; March 30, 2017)

 

Why must we always eat

our dinner before our desserts?

And why does it always seem

we’ve shared our last kiss before the first?

Why must I ask these questions,

and why is my everything not right?

And why must I even make mention,

when we’ve never even shared our first fight?

Could I be any more real in my revelation,

or anything less in my feeling of devastation?

Both should be “no,” but they seem to be “yes”;

Why any such answers, excepting the best?

I suppose we get what we give and learn how to forgive

but my efforts half-strength are no fair way to live

My feelings are really still the same

I can’t say that they’ve changed

but, again, I’m the one to give cause for the blame

They were what they were, they are what they’re for

but your full opportunities still wait at your door

to be free to love with no-holds barred would fit you very well

and on that beach, within your reach, lie precious, pretty shells

On the tide, I subside —

goodbye, my good friend, goodbye

 

❤🌚

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Comments? Please be nice...

