Asleep In The Sea

 

Asleep In The Sea (Randyjw; April 12, 2017)

 

Coughing, gasping, gulping salt

I spill and tumble,

pitch and fault

while the trawler’s net

reels in the weight of the haul

 

Frail and small

I tremble as a man’s loving hands

sorts with wrapped bands

into buckets and cans

lobster, flounder, mollusk, sole

 

My ochre color belying the

nachre within

He must be a good man,

this fisherman,

to his family and wife

To hold me so gently

and think me beautifully

by kissing my cheek

and saving my life

 

Off to the sea I fall

caressed to the depths

while I stay discovered

and treasured no less

awoken from slumbering rest

with gifts of everlasting breath

of ivory-sunshine scrimshaw

engraved within my chest

~~~~~^~~~~~

°

~~~~

°    ~~~

~~~    °

( ° )   ~~

~~~    ~~~

~~~

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Comments? Please be nice...

