Misplaced Crown

 

Misplaced Crown (Randyjw; July 27, 2017)

 

Last night, in a discussion with one of the shelter program participants running the shift at the front desk, the “blessing” she bestowed on me was taken back upon learning that I am Jewish. She declared me the “anti-Christ”.

 

First of all, while the shelter may have its mission statement ensconced in Christian beliefs; and while an individual’s personal expression of faith may not wholly represent the views of the organization, as a whole… the shelter does, I believe, still receive public funds allotted them by the state, and it’s pretty horrible to face this hostility in such a vulnerable situation as I am in, and to be discriminated against, like this. I was less-tolerant in previous times, when I went to the same shelter group, and then left the facility due to Christian discrimination, yet again, when a visiting lecturer asked if any “Children of Israel” were present, and when some of us raised our hands, he said that he couldn’t say what he had wanted to, because of our presence there!

 

As far as this most recent incident involving this girl illustrates to me, is that I apparently know the beliefs her religion encompasses better than she does, as she is unaware that her Christian religion fancies that the so-called “anti-Christ” will be reigning in Jerusalem. Meanwhile, I’m living in America…

 

Has anybody seen my crown?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments? Please be nice...

