For Sake

For Sake (Randyjw; August 30, 2022)

 

The crazy rush of love

with it’s surreal feelings of dopamine highs

you can’t think straight or breathe right

being distracted all the time

 

and the same effect

when you fall off the clouds

hurting with the pain of a heart attack

so real, but no x-rays found

 

Seating plans changed

and I couldn’t keep up,

that’s something which you already know

and what shouldn’t have been,

conspired to bring you down

and took on another life of it’s own

 

I’m glad you found

what you sought, after all

it’s my penance, my doing, my fall

You might think I’ve lost it;

I haven’t; it hurts…

but, would you really believe me, though?

 

Love being blind

is a future excuse

for that sight which is seen in hind

The character faults

which just couldn’t be seen

Wasn’t warned to let sleeping dogs lie

 

Those things I’d hoped you’d never find

Those things that I now realize

Will always be stuck in my heart and my mind

when my honey just closed his eyes

 

 

 

 

Comments Off on For Sake

Filed under Poetry

Comments are closed.