A Dream Encounter

A Dream Encounter (Randyjw; October 30, 2018)

 

I’m taking us back into retreat

to the hideout, where I found you

in my dreams

Where you slipped beneath the

coils of the bedsprings

And the sleep-sofa cushions

were your impregnable fortresses’ walls

and its ceilings, with seams

Needing a refuge in defense of

the patronage of adults

their silly questioning and our

requisite performing,

like monkeys in a ring,

well-meant intent

yet keeping on to prolong our intrinsic suffering

Awake, these many days onward

and jumping in to join you

to wave a gauzy white banner

of surrender

with which to wrap us, immobile

and dampen our senses

Pretend to numbness

while reveling in a cocoon

of pure whiteness and stillness

The onslaught is tough, my friend

It attacks us on both ends,

from without and within

You grab my hand and have brought a friend

hurtling along before I can quite react or think things through to the end

It hadn’t gone as I had thought and it had not been as it seems

but I don’t know if it’s just the devil in my thoughts

or an actual one that turned up in my dreams

My life on the outside has suddenly plummeted rather steeply

At the moment, I’m muffling us in muted suspension

til we can unravel our protective coverings and take to discovering things more deeply

 

Comments Off on A Dream Encounter

Filed under Poetry

Comments are closed.